Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
967 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm starting on a new cartridge for me, the .220 Swift. Not asking for load data, but I would appreciate comments from those experienced with this cartridge as to what bullets, especially bullet weights, and what powders have you had the greatest success with. As well as other general comments. The rifle is a Ruger No. 1, objective is pretty general--I want accuracy per se, I'll shoot some squirrels, coyotes and the like. I personally won't use it on game larger than Pronghorn, and doubt I'll do that.
Just so you know that I'm not new at this, I've been reloading for 55+ years and currently load 19 different cartridges.
Thanks!

·
Premium Member
14,218 Posts
Moosehunt-- I've had a few and shot with guys and re-barreled their rifles. ;) Seriously. 1500 rounds is pretty 'old age'.

It's best with 55 grain bullets (IMO) and that's all I've ever shot. 4350 and H-414 are your good friends. With lighter bullets, 4895 is my choice.
Case stretch can be a problem.

Some #1-Vs are scary accurate!

·
Registered
121 Posts
I have read (may not be exactly true) that bullets from the .220 Swift were the fastest man made objects on the planet from 1935 until aerospace developments in the late 50s or early 60s.

JBelk mentioned barrel life, and I wonder if modern barrel steels or nitride surface treatments might allow for longer barrel life than the earlier Swift rifles. I am also curious whether .22-250 barrel life is really much better than the Swift.

I have read posts by forum members who have bore scopes and examined the throats of their barrels, and decided to back off the maximum charges a little in favor of barrel (throat) life.

·
Premium Member
14,218 Posts