Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This is my first time on this board. I'm looking for any and all information on the .280 Dubiel Magnum that Elmer Keith wrote about on occasion. Info that I have gleaned so far suggests that this cartridge is a .300 H&H Mag. necked to .288 (original) or .284 with no other changes to the case other than the length which is 2.870" If anyone has any other info. to share I would greatly appreciate it. I am presently Working with a couple other wildcats including the very obscure .35 Apex Magnum.

Thankyou in advance for any replies.

Scott

·
Beartooth Regular
5,220 Posts
While probably not the info you are looking for, the 280 Dubiel seems similar to the 275 H&H, though not exactly the same. I believe CH4D makes dies for it and even think Quality Cartridge provides loaded ammo. Wasn't Keith's rifle a Champlin? You may be able to contact any of the above references (especially CH4D) get more info.

It's not much, but I hope this helps.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Elmer's .280 Dubiel was a Magnum Mauser with a 28" heavy sporter weight barrel. Elmer had a Winchester A5 scope on it to start with then went to a Lyman 8X Targetspot. From what he wrote about this wildcat, he was very impressed with it's speed and accuracy. Elmer reported 150gr. bullets in the 3200 - 3300 fps. range. Very impressive indeed for the early 1930's.

·
Registered
4 Posts
While probably not the info you are looking for, the 280 Dubiel seems similar to the 275 H&H, though not exactly the same. I believe CH4D makes dies for it and even think Quality Cartridge provides loaded ammo. Wasn't Keith's rifle a Champlin? You may be able to contact any of the above references (especially CH4D) get more info.

It's not much, but I hope this helps.