Shooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I have a remington woodsmaster model 742 chambered in 7mm Express/.280 (However you want to look at it). My problem is, as it has been with my dad and my great grandfather, the grouping. It doesn't seem to matter what rounds you run through it, what elements you remove, or how deep you clean it. It never seems to group any better than a paper plate. While that will make a kill shot on most animals, I personally would like to be in a tighter grouping pattern. I was just wondering if this was a common issue among this model of rifle or if I've missed something.

Thanks for any info in advance. I'm still a young man trying to better educate myself.

·
Premium Member
14,698 Posts
Congratulations on the furtherance of your education and welcome to the forum!

How do other rifles group that you shoot? That's a sneaky way of asking how YOU shoot instead of the rifle. :)

It sounds like you have a problem with rifle or sights. Paper plates at a hundred yards and iron sights is 'normal' for most people shooting hunting rifles. A scope should cut that down to a clay target-size group. Most 'non-shooters but hunters' consider a rifle that will hit a cupcake every time as pure magic.

You'll need a 20X jeweler's loupe or geologist 'hand glass' to check the condition of the crown. That's the first suspect.

Here's pictures of what to look for and what's 'right'. I can help you through the process if your rifle needs lapping. All you need is an electric drill and a couple hardware store items to do it.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,242 Posts
Welcome Bub. lots of good opinions on here.

742s were not known for great accuracy...BUT you should expect 2" or better from a bench with a scope shooting factory ammo.

First thing would be to check every mount/ring/scope screw to see if it is tight.