Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about buying a 3.5" mag 12 guage for geese and crane purposes.
Anybody got an idea of what the best brand is for your money in one of these?

·
Beartooth Regular
1,116 Posts
Don't bother with the 12 gauge/3.5" shell. Stick to the 12/3" gun of your personal preference with loads like Hevi-Shot or Bismuth. Without being hamstrung by steel shot there is utterly no purpose for the 12 gauge 3.5" shotgun. Such a gun shooting steel isn't the equal of a 12/2.75" smoothbore using Hevi-Shot, Bismuth, or lead.

·
Registered
531 Posts
I have very little experience in this area, but for a 3-1/2" gun I'd go with the Remington 870.  Some folks like the Mossberg, but I just trust Remington more.  If you consider the Browning, you may as well get a 10 gauge as lug that around in my opinion.  The Benelli Super Black Eagle is THE gun, if you want to spend that much money I do believe.  Not heavy at all and handles like a dream for me.  You will know when you touch it off, as with the Remington or Mossberg.
I do agree with Bill though.  If you have a 3" 12 already, spend the money on premium shells and see if you aren't satisfied with the results.  Thanks to Hevi-shot, I sold my 10 gauge.

·
Banned
2 Posts
Super Black Eagle

Virginian said:
I have very little experience in this area, but for a 3-1/2" gun I'd go with the Remington 870.  Some folks like the Mossberg, but I just trust Remington more.  If you consider the Browning, you may as well get a 10 gauge as lug that around in my opinion.  The Benelli Super Black Eagle is THE gun, if you want to spend that much money I do believe.  Not heavy at all and handles like a dream for me.  You will know when you touch it off, as with the Remington or Mossberg.
I do agree with Bill though.  If you have a 3" 12 already, spend the money on premium shells and see if you aren't satisfied with the results.  Thanks to Hevi-shot, I sold my 10 gauge.