Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to reloading, bought a Dillon Square b a couple of months ago, learned alot, made over 700 45acp. Now I want to make rifle bullets, bought a hornady classic kit.
Question
Accurate 4350 powder
bullet .308 150gr
measure 48.1-57.0
Would it be wise to start with 50.0gm?
Also If i have new brass, do I need to lube it, or just press the bullet on?
Thanx

·
Registered
13,246 Posts
Marky,

First and foremost, welcome to the forum! Rules are simple: Be nice and join in.

As to your questions, I would be sure to follow the load recipe in your reloading manual. (You DO have a reloading manual, right??) Bottle-necked brass cartridges need to be lubed during every resizing operation, but the bullet being seated in a bottle-necked case does not need lube, unless you are referring to a cast bullet, which may need lube. I'm not too familiar with that operation, so I'll let one of the cast boolit guys answer, if that's what you're asking about.

·
Registered
4,165 Posts
I do not have an AA4350 load. According to the new Hornady manual 50 gr would be a good starting load for the 150 gr bullet. I hunt with a 165 gr bullet and use a similar velocity load because my shots are 150 yds or less. If you are strictly shooting target at long range you will have to work up a lot to get to an accurate load that is closer to 3000 fps. The powder you have chosen is one according to the manual that will reach that velocity but with a compressed load.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks, yes I have the Hornady & Lymnan Manuel, even went to the Accurate web site. I'll start with 50gr
Question The brass is brand new, I added the primers last night. Do I need to resize new brass with the first die or can I just
seat the bullet with the second die, it's a single stage press

·
Premium Member
7,591 Posts