Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all;
I'm new to this forum, and I thought I'd ask some questions of some experienced reloaders out there. I've been reloading for the past 20 years so I thought I knew what I was doing.
3006 - 150gr SP
50 gr IMR4895
CCI200 - Case R-P
1st load - case length 2.484
O.A. length 3.200 - 8/5/03
Av velocity:3367
Ext. spread:52.37
Standard Dev:20.49
I was suprized when I saw the speed on that load, but It extraced easily, but the primers were flattened and the load I shot before it with 51gr. of powder clocked at 2965fps and had an ES of 7.99 and SD of 5.65. So this looks strange to me, does it to you? What is going on with this load as the book max is about 51.5gr.?

Happy shooting.

Scott5

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,225 Posts
Two of my sources (Hodgdon/Speer) show around 49 grains max and one (Nosler) is 51gr. But none of them are over 3,000fps which suggests that the 51 gr. load is pretty hot so I wouldn't think of exceeding it.

Higher velocity = higher pressure. A good rule of thumb is that if you are exceeding velocities published in the manuals, you are over pressure, even if you are using less powder (assuming similar barrel lengths).

As far as a lighter load giving higher speed, there are several explanations for that. Mostly, our small group samples don't have enough data points to reliably say that we are in fact measuring the average. Even if we did in fact find the true average with one group, on the next group the small sample could have been given us an 'average' which only reflects some 'high' or some 'low' shots, not a true average.

On the other hand that's a whopping big jump in velocity which makes me suspect a chronograph problem, rather than just a statistical anomaly.

Suffice to say that statistics are a complex subject and I don't believe I can adequately explain them in a forum post, if at all.