Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
2,919 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just got a .308 Howa with a 20" barrel and both the youth and full size Houge overmolded stocks. I bought this because my petite girl friend, while making a great 90yd offhand shot at dusk on her first deer, really crowned herself good with my Model 70 .30-06. That, and we have three young boys who will be shooting soon. I opted for the .308 over 7mm-08 and .243 because reduced loads are available and can be loaded. The gun will have quality optics with good eye relief.

I have loaded .30-06 rounds with 165gr bullets at .308 velocities for years, so I think I know what works there as far as bullet/velocity combinations. I am new to loading down to "youth" level loads though.

My requirements:

-150 to 165 grain bullets.
-175 yd point blank range on deer size lung cavity (sighted in 2" high at 100)
-Solid penetration even on shoulder shots
-Reasonable expansion
-.30-30 level recoil

Please, if anyone has such experience, give me bullet suggestions. Would a 150 gr partition make sense at .30-30 velocities? And potential powders (safety first please). How best can a .308 be loaded safely down to these levels. What are the pitfalls if any?

Thanks.

·
Registered
13,209 Posts
Why are you requiring the use of at least 150 grain bullets when you are concerned about felt recoil? If I had chosen a .308 over a .260 or 7mm-08, I would go with 125gr Nosler BT's for reduced recoil without giving up accuracy or range.

·
Registered
2,919 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·