Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Beartooth Regular
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys - I've been neglecting the lever world for a few years. Even sold my two BLRs, but that still leaves me with three Marlins and several Winchesters. Then, decided to put a BAR (Belgium made) .30-06 on the trading block and that got me to thinking about the .308 Marlin Express. When it came out I didn't pay it or the LeveRevolution bullets too much notice. But, in researching threads on various forums the past week it seems this is a finer caliber than I had given it credit for.

But, being a reloader and knowing I can't quite duplicate the LeveRevolution load I am still pondering if I want to stock up on factory-made ammo.

I've been shooting a single-shot the past couple years so shooting just two in the Marlin -- one in the chamber, one in the tube -- doesn't scare me if someone has a load they like better than those rubber-tipped things (never was a huge fan of the Interlocks to begin with, functional but not fancy.)

Also, it appears people are, for the most part, happier with the .308 ME than they are with the .338ME. Is that a proper assessment?

Anyway, I could use all the enlightenment folks want to share. Thanks. john

·
Registered
6,658 Posts
Well, you knew I would say I like the 308ME very much.
With the good Speer 170-grain bullet you dont need the FTX bullet out to 240 yards. Its not a 307 Winchester but it is a good cartridge and the rifle is very accurate.
If you can handload and equal the accuracy of the 22" Marlin 308MX using factory ammunition you have done well

·
Registered
7,844 Posts
I'd suggest you take a gander over at the Marlin Owners site. My opinion, reading postings there, is that they feel the .338ME is a VERY fine cartridge and an improvement even on the popular .356 Win.:D

·
Registered
13,291 Posts