Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to the 338 lapua and know very little about them so looking for a little help.

I picked up savage model 111 338 lapua magnum the other day cause I got a good deal on it. So the questions I have are 1) lapua vs lapua magnum is there a difference or is the term used interchangeable and if they are different can you fire normal lapua round through a magnum. 2) what's a decent scope for that rifle? I was looking at vortex viper psd but was told it can not handle the recoil and will break so I'm looking for something that's not gonna break the bank people keep saying nightforce but I don't have 3k to drop on a scope. 3) where is a decent place to get ammo that's not gonna cost me 100$ a box? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
144 Posts
The 338 Lapua Magnum is often referred to as the 338 Lapua, 338 Lapua Mag or the 338 LM. It is the same Cartridge.

Good luck finding any decent factory ammunition for 338 Lapua Magnum for under $100.00 per box of 20! I hand load mine on Lapua brand cases.

A 5.5-22x50mm or 5.5-22x56mm Nightforce NXS scope is a great choice for optics on any rifle and can be had with the ZeroStop for $2,000.00 at numerous places on the internet. With a decent muzzle brake and a reasonable to heavy rifle weight, recoil is very manageable and any better quality scope should hold up fine. SWFA makes some excellent scopes for under $1,000.00 and Burris makes their XTR Ii series scopes for about a grand as well. In the Burris XTR II the 4-20x has the best reviews in the Burris line. It does have a 34mm main tube so quality rings are a little more costly.

·
Registered
144 Posts