Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am a beginner and had a question I am hoping some of the more experienced members could answer for me. I am working on a 35 cal wildcat for Indiana deer hunting. My idea was to cut the end off a .358 Winchester die (that I had on hand) and cut and resize .30-06 brass (that I had on hand) to make a cartridge with the required 1.62 case length. Then I thought I would use a standard .358 Win reamer and short chamber a barrel to match the shortened case length. To try and avoid trouble with differences in case base diameter and chamber diameter and to increase case capacity I shortened the neck to .250. I cut the 30-06 brass to 1.63 in and ran it through my die and they seemed to form perfectly well. My main question is how much of a problem it is for my case neck to be shorter than that of the standard .358 Win reamer/chamber? I will be seating the bullets out long so there shouldn't be a big difference in bullet jump. Is the resulting gap "freebore" or is my understanding of freebore incorrect? And how could this potentially affect the accuracy and performance?
I'm trying to use junk I have on hand and keep it cheap as I'm just trying to learn the ropes..
Thanks for your help,
Mark

·
Registered
13,290 Posts
Mark,

Welcome to ShootersForum! Rules are simple, be nice and join in. :)