Shooters Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I came into a quantity of factory cast .357 bullets. There are some Speer 148 grain bevel base wadcutters, (#4605), and 500 Hornady 158 grain SWCs.
Two questions, (keep in mind both boxes of bullets are over 20 years old):

1- Are these bullets "pre lubricated", or do I need to lube them, (neither have the lube grooves I've seen on other lead bullets).

2- Can I drive them at mild velocity, (750 FPS or so), without worrying about leading?

These bullets are not made for gas checks - I'm a newbie to lead, and I assume that if the bullet was cast as a flat base, you cannot affix a gas check to them, (if I'm incorrect, please tell me so).

I have a "recipe" I pulled off the internet for home made lube - doesn't sound too difficult to tumble lube if I need to.

I'm shooting them out of two S&W snubs - a 337 and a Model 38.
I'd also like to shoot them out of my EMF M92 carbine, but that might bring more leading concerns - correct?

Lastly, can I shoot them from 357 Magnum cases out of the carbine at lower velocity, (how low do I need to keep them), without leading?

Any help/info you old salts can throw my way would be apprieciated.

Thanks in advance.

·
Banned
6,248 Posts
Yes, use these bullets at 800 FPS and under and you'll be happy. I like 3.0 grains of Clays. You don't need to lube them, they are actually lubed already with a thin ALOX type coating.

You are right, these bullets are not made for gas checks.

I would not use them in a rifle, the velocity will be too high and you'll have bad leading problems as these bullets are very soft.

·
Banned
484 Posts