Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
674 Posts
Con, ammo availability and price
Pro, fun to shoot, especially in the new guns, my old one was reliable but at 50 yards I could barely keep it on paper from a rest. Today shooting offhand if I can't keep all the shots inside the 7 ring its my fault not the gun.

·
Registered
490 Posts
the super and its cousins are great rounds. accurate and easy to shoot and reload. if the gun is a 1911 type you may want to try getting a second extractor fit to handle the rimless rounds(9x23,9mm super comp, 38 super comp, 38 tj and others i am sure i am missing). my own super shoots the rimless better(functioning) but i have had others that ran long days with no fuss with the rimmed cases.

·
Banned
6,248 Posts
I have an STI Steel Master in 38 Super Comp, very fun and fast. You've got to handload to take potential of this round, but its worth it.

·
Banned
502 Posts
I had a South American clone of a 1911 in 38 Largo that shoot 38 Supers extremely well. Wish I hadn't sold it now. To me it had more power than a 9mm Luger.

Jerry

·
Registered
875 Posts
Sir,

As far as locading is concerned, Neck tension and the taper crimp seem to be problematic for me. I've introduced an additional step in trying to push the bullet in the case with my finger. I average one per 50 rounds.

The guns shoot easy, and are accuratte enough. Seems reliable enough.

Steve

·
Registered
9,643 Posts
Just a little background for the .38super.

In the old days (and i don't know when it changed...probably in the late 1970's/early1980's), Colt was the only .38super game in town (lets exclude the 9mm largo/Bergmann) and Colt used the tiny semi-rim to headspace.