Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Shooters!

I am new to all this talking by typing, but I have learned a lot from reading on here and I don't want to be one of those "troll" guys.

I have a funny question about a carbine that has been sitting around my place that I took on trade. It is a Rossi copy of the '92 in .44-40, I have learned that it is an old model without a safety, has a steel magazine follower, and a saddle ring.

I have shot some of those "Cowboy" loads and might take the plunge and get some dies- but I cannot find a niche for it. I don't do the CAS thing, I have a Winchester pre-64 .30-30 for horseback duty-won't replace with the .44-40 it can't do what that carbina trienta does! My father's Marlin .44mag resides in the safe for future use, and my Marlin 1895CB and Enfield .30-06 handles hunting here (NM Deer, Elk and Antelope).

Other than riding in the the truck I cannot find anything to do with this carbine- help me out! Around here nothing eats (horses, dogs, or kids) if it doesn't have a job. If it doesn't find a job it will be sold or traded off!

Regards,

ST

·
Registered
16 Posts
I have one i love mine just for plinkin I have to many more powerful lever guns etc to use it for coyotes or anythings else. Does yours feed properly??? Mine was a early model rossi 92 the 44-40s had some fitting problems took me awhile to get the spring pressures and loading gate right. I use .44 mag expander and seater dies for mine since mine has the same bore diameter as a 44 mag yours prob does to. If so prob just need a shell holder and 44-40 sizer die. I dont guess i have a real practical use for mine really but its just fun.

·
Registered
3,917 Posts