Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this message board, but I have a question. I have been shooting handguns for several years, mostly small caliber and automatics. The 45 auto being the largest. I do deer hunt with a 12 gauge, but just purchased a S&W Model 629PP, 44 Magnum. My question is: what grain factory load cartridge is best to use on whitetail deer?

·
Registered
4,165 Posts
Man! Have you asked at the right place.

I won't give you second hand info here, but hang in there. There are lots of folks here that have that info. You may want to search HandgunHunt.com also. Lots of experience there also. Welcome to a great sight. Check LoadSwap for loads and comments. The other Tech notes and all have valuable info.:)

·
Beartooth Regular
1,116 Posts
A.J.,

You can't go wrong with the standard 240-grain JHP if you have a 6" or greater barrel. Just about all will give excellent results. I prefer the Hornady line, but only because it has shot well in my particular guns. Your Smith & Wesson may prefer Winchester, Remington, etc. Whatever brands you try, stay away from jacketed softpoint (JSP) loads. They rarely expand in .44 Magnum handguns. If you're using a 4" .44 then you may want to consider the Hornady 200-grain XTP load. The lighter bullet will help compensate for velocity lost in the short(er) barrel.