Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the big, heavy, slow bullet game. I'm going Grizzly Bear hunting in 3 weeks with my 45-70. Bought it just for this hunt. I've always been a .300 Weatherby guy. So I've got some 350 gr jacketed and some 420 gr cast. Both come from Buffalo Bore. What's the advantage of the cast, penetration? I should be able to keep my shot within 150 yards. Should have bought a 45-70 a long time ago. Also, is the RCBS Rockchucker kit a good way to get started handloading?
Thanks for the info, Joel.

·
Registered
26 Posts
A good quality cast bullet will out penetrate a jacketed bullet of similar weight and for me cast bullets are usally more accurate.The RCBS Rockchucker kit is an excellent way to get started in handloading.The rockchucker kit has almost every thing that you will need to get started except components and dies.I also recommend buying an extra manual or two.The rockchucker is very tough,easy to use,will last a lifetime and if you ever have any problems RCBS has excellent customer service.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,449 Posts
Joel,

Shoot an email to Buffalo Bore (they're on the web) and see which of their products they recommend.  I'd guess the heavier bullet for bear, but that's just a guess and they can tell you for sure.

·
Registered
362 Posts
I wonder if they will recommend the Jacket for the "shot" and the cast for the second round. Also they will go with the cast for a short range encounter. Let us know what they say.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Your 45-70 should do fine to 150 yards. It will kill at much greater distances, but the problem is trajectory. Beyond 150 you have to know the range almost exactly, and know how much to hold over to place the bullet where you want it.

·
Registered
510 Posts