Shooters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the 45/70 Marlin and would like to know what you guys are loading in the Marlin GG.
For practice I am using 28 gr and 36.6 gr of H4198 under the 405gr. lead bullet

·
Registered
204 Posts
Try Beartooth Bullets Loadswap section. They have 27 loads listed for the 45-70 and I'm sure that most will be for the Marlin 1895.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
45/70 loads

The loads listed on load swap got me started , but, I am looking for a bit more in the 300gr, 330 to 450 range of lead bullets thsat some of the members might be using and have some expertise.
Coyote hunter on the Marlin forum was of more help.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Harry,
Try 32.0 grs of 2400 for your 300-330 gr gas checked rounds. You'll get about 1700-1800 fps. Very pleasant and accurate load.:D I shoot the RCBS 300gr FNGC and get 1.5 to 2.0 " At 100 yds. Hope this helps.
Jeff

·
Banned
1 Posts
Hey, Harry Snippe

I've been using an interesting load. 36 grains of RL-7 behind a 515 grain cast by Gardner's Cache. Probably moving along at 1450fps. It will certainly shake you awake if you're not 100% up yet when you touch her off!

Let us know what you end up with!:cool:

·
Registered
1,340 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
45/70 cast 405 gr lead

Well I am shooting
45 gr of IMR3031 under a 405 cast bulletand getting good results forom my guide gun.

Also loaded 50Gr.R7 and 440 cast lead and am hppy with the load.
I am usingWinchester case's and Win mag primers.

Good powder burn and no leading:)

·
Super Moderator
3,365 Posts
For The Marlin .45-70's here are a couple tried and true tack driving loads.

BTB .460"-405g LFNGC/56.0g H335/WLRP/Rem or Starline Brass

BTB .460"-405g LFNGC/52.0g H322/WLRP/Rem or Starline Brass

Both of the above loads are 1900-2000 fps loads depending upon the barrel length, but are proven to be exceptionally accurate in virtually every Marlin tested.