Shooters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First time post but I'm looking for some help. I have been reloading rifle rounds for about 5 years but a few friends of my have started to do the 45 Cowboy shooting and are wanting me to load rounds for them. I have not ideal where to start but to ask the experts what to do. They have been using factory rounds but it is getting expensive so they want to try something else. Does anyone have a site that you use or would you be willing to share how you do this. Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Using 5.5 grains of Unique, you can shoot 255 grain lead bullets at about 750 FPS. This is ideal for CAS, and it's the load I use in a set of Colt SAA's when shooting Cowboy Matches. I use Oregon Trail Laser Cast bullets.

As far as loading...if you have already been loading rifle rounds, then, you know the basics of handloading. Loading pistol ammo isn't much different, except for a couple of things.

First, when you get a set of dies, get carbide dies, then, you can skip the step of having to lube cases. Unlike reloading rifle ammo, where, no matter what type of die you have, bottleneck cases must be lubed.

Secondly, unlike with rifle brass, you'll seldom have to trim pistol brass after resizing, especially if you are shootng mild loads. It doesn't seem to "grow" like rifle brass does.

Hope this info helps.

·
Banned
490 Posts
You might want to reconsider loading ammo for other people, for two reasons. First, if you are being paid for loading, it is a violation of federal law to manufacture ammunition for sale without a license. Second, you are assuming a great liability risk. If one of their guns comes apart or someone is injured, you can expect your name to be listed on the top of the first page of a lawsuit.