Shooters Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new Vaquero, .45 Colt/.45 ACP.  My first time with a fixed sight center fire revolver.  It prints low and to the left so I need to tinker with my load before I have the barrel tweaked.  I'm using 6 grs, Bullseye and a 255 gr. cast bullet.  That works great in my Blackhawk but not so good in the Vaquero.  How much should I change the powder charge each time to try and move the point of impact and improve the groups?  .1 Gr.? .5 Gr?  I'm new at trying to work up a load since previously I've always found a good one from a published source and could adjust the sights as needed.
Thanks.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Low and Left is very common,

You are in the lower end of the load data, Speer shows Bulseye 250 gr lswc at 6.3 to 7.0, i couldn't find the data for 255 gr, most bulseye data is for lighter loads.

You can kick it up to 6.5 gr and see what that does, it should definately raise your poi, whether it moves it to the right is up for grabs.

After that I would go up in 0.1 or 0.2 gr increments, carefully watching pressure (although you can load the rugers fairly stout)

You might also considering changing powders, if you cannot get it perfect. For punching paper I have had good success with unique in the 45 vaquero

Let us Know how it turns out   JM

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,236 Posts
Charlie,

Find a gunsmith that knows how to work on single-actions.  To fix the left-right, it is likely that you need to turn the barrel just a smidge.  Take him some targets so he can try to figure out how much to turn the barrel, and of course, what direction.