Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haven't found a load for this bullet with H-110.  I started with 29.0 and went to 31.5, the best accuracy was about 6 inches at 75 yds (4X scope).  I am new to the gun so I thought it might be me, but I can get 3 inch groups with a jacketed load.  What about Little Gun the data in Hogdon's manual seems to show less pressure at near the same velocity.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Bob,

I doubt the fault lies with the powder. Nearly every shooter using the big bores loads with H110 or it's twin W296. This sounds more like a bullet fit issue. Have you slugged the bore and the cylinder mouths yet? I willing to bet that there's a problem with the size of the bullet in relationship to the guns dimensions. While powder selection can have a small part in the accuracy of any given load this sounds like a bigger problem than that.

Let us know what you find so we can help you get this cannon shooting

MT Callahan

·
Registered
47 Posts
Mr. Harris:
What gun are you using? I have the Ruger Super Redhawk and it shoots the 310 WLN wonderfully. Your loads sound a little on the light side. I shoot 35.0gr of H-110/296 for velocities of 1700fps and groups around an inch at 25yds with a 2x Leupold. My throats slugged at .4515 with the bore right at .452. Try bringing up your charges a half grain at a time till you get better  accuracy. I wouldn't go any higher than the charge I listed, it really isn't neccesary. Definetly slug your gun to be sure you don't have a tight throat. Hope this helps, if not we can try something else.

God Bless

Chris

·
Super Moderator
3,375 Posts
I'll agree with the previous posts... bullet fit would be my first consideration... check that carefully.   Also, check for barrel constriction where the barrel shank screws into the revolver's frame.   Even a .001" constriction can raise hob with accuracy using cast bullets.