Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So being in LE I'm always on the lookout for a good tactical rifle and cartridge. Earlier I came across the 6.8 mm REM SPC. Most of the reviews I've read look promising. But, I figured I would get some first hand (or second hand) opinions on the cartridge. Has anyone shot this round from an AR platform? If so, what did you think of the round vs, lets say the standard 5.56 mm? Any help would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
58 Posts
I have no experience with it in an AR, but I LOVE the cartridge in the bolt gun I have. It has been plenty effective on the deer I have used it on. More and more bullets keep coming out tailored to the cartridge as well which is exciting for both 6.8 and .270 Win shooters (I have both). I think you would have a hard time finding anything not to like about it except perhaps ammo availability if you don't handload.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
Personally, for possible hunting use (and long range shooting), I like the idea of the newer 6.5mm cartridges more. The 6.5 Grendel, for example, can handle up to 140gr bullets (.287 SD) where the 6.8 SPC seems to top out around 115gr (.214 SD) and the 6.5s in those weights have much higher BC for better long range performance. I don't have an AR, they don't really do much for me, but the cartridges they fire are interesting. I have looked into the AR some, though... some guys at work have them.

And as evandailey said... anything other than .223/5.56 on an AR-15 is basically 'custom' so be prepared to reload and it'll be more expensive all the way around.

·
Registered
601 Posts
I've got one but have shot it very little. So far I've got no complaints. I'd like to try it on deer. It has been very difficult to get bullets and casings so far. Ammunition is way more expensive than .223 at this point. Hopefully this will not be true for long.

·
Registered
543 Posts