Shooters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to settle on a cal. for a new rifle I live in oh. so hunting with it would be limited to yotes and groundhogs but I would like to learn to shoot long range up to 1000yds I load for 243 222 30-30 in my rifles 243 and 222 are both .75 moa guns if I do my part but not a 1000yd gun how bout 7-08

·
Registered
517 Posts
Yep, 260 although 7-08 is a good choice. But, the heavier .260 bullets have a real high (higher) Ballistic Coefficient, which gives you better fps (and less wind drift) past 500 or so.

·
Banned
1,021 Posts
If you were asking for the best 'hunting' caliber I would go wit the 7-08. I have been using it for several years (I wish I had started using 20+ years ago) and it is as good as it gets for deer size game (and if you limit your range on elk also).
The 6.5 Creedmoor is the newest kid on the block for the 1000 paper game now. If I had to decide between the 260 and 7-08 for your purpose I would lean toward the 6.5 (260).

·
Super Moderator
13,628 Posts
Stinky,

Your numbers aren't quite right on BC. Berger's best .264 has a G1 BC of 0.612 for a 140 grain match. Sierra's 142 grain is their best at 0.595. Berger has a 180 grain 0.284 (7 mm) that has a BC of 0.659. The Sierra 240 grain MK has 0.711, if you have something that can launch it? So, the guys shooting the .30's are mainly taking advantage of the BC's and also of having enough powder to get the big bullets going fast enough to stay at the top of the transonic range to 1000 yards. However, if you divide the BC by the bullet weight, you get the most BC per unit weight with the .264's. So, to the extent recoil is an issue for you or the gun, there is an advantage there.