Shooters Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I shoot IHMSA Big Bore 200m silhouette seeking a better round to shoot from the T/C Contender for production standing (P) class I did lotta research then did this....objective knock rams over without hitting my self in the face shooting the Taco hold. Lots of shooters shoot 30 calibers, 30 Blackout, 30/221 etc. I wanted to use 7mm bullets for superior ballistics. Thought of 7mmTCU but velocity and case capacity to much for Taco hold. Then there’s the 357Max case transformed to 7x357max which is almost clone of TCU with short neck. So i studied reload manuals looked at 357 magnum, case capacity seemed more to what I was after. So looked at 256WM compared H2O volumes figured ok. So called Bullberry in Utah talked to Troy told him to make me a wildcat 7x256 use same dimensions as 256WM with neck expanded for 7mm bullets. So Bullberry Had reamer made and did a 10 3/4” bull barrel. Meanwhile I worked on dies! Die makers said $250+ and year or 2!! So I ordered a full carbide 19/64 drill bit soon drilled neck out on a standard 256WM full length die and exchanged expander to 7mm. Then ordered a Hornady 7mm short neck die which I ground off the bottom 3/16” for proper length. Ok! Reamer production took about 3 months then Bullberry produces barrel so from order in 10/2020 to received 4/2021 right smack in bullet powder primer shortage! So loaded 139gr with IMR 4227 started at 10.5grs (1115fps) worked up to 13grs @1408fps ES of 17. Recoil little much hit knickle on chin every shot but took every Ram hit. So then loaded 160gr bullet with 10.3 gr Imr 4227 @ 1060fps this load has Momentum of .678 at 200m with nice long bullet for good push, ok with same result took every Ram hit even 2 hit low in belly. Haven’t benched this load for group size because shortage of bullets. So will update soon as now have bullets and bad weather. None of these loads showed any signs of high pressure. With the