Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
A few months ago I impulse bought a &#3649.99 Turkish mauser in 8mm.  The receiver and bolt are in great shape as well as the chamber.  The head space is correct.  The bore is rated as "good", with most of the wear at the muzzle.

I decided to have the barrel cut and crowned at 23" (it was 29").  I removed the soldered on rear sight.  The rifle smith is drilling and tapping for a Williams receiver sight and front ramp.  A Ramline stock is on the way as well as a extra tall .065" blade front sight to be adjusted for optimun height.

Now I need something to shoot in it.  What starting and max loads does anyone have for the 170 gr. cast BTB?  What velocity level should I expect the best accuracy?
Any and all insight is appreciated.
Jeff

·
Beartooth Regular
1,177 Posts
Hello JRR,

Sounds like an interesting project gun you got there. Although I have no personal experience with the 8mm Mauser round, I would say as to cast bullets, slug your bore to determine the groove diameter. I believe these guns came in 2 seperate bore diameters around .318(J) and .323(JS) so check it out to be sure. Check your throat diameter also.

An interesting side note is that these guns used to be rechambered to use a standard 30 '06 case necked up to 8mm thus called the 8mm '06. This was to take advantage of the much more common 30 '06 brass at the time.

As far as loads for cast, you could start with jacketed bullet loads in the manuals as a starting point with the medium burning powders.

I'll defer to somebody else for more specifics on this cartridge for now.

Regards,

:cool:

·
Super Moderator
3,366 Posts