Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all the reloaders on the forum.

I need some help and advise...

I have been reloading for a few years now, mainly for hunting purposes. I havent had the need for software like QL yet as I have always kept well below the max loads posted in reloading manuals. I have also never had the the need to push the limits off my rifles yet, untill now...

I have the opportunity to go and hunt a Cape Buffalo bull later this year in Namibia. The rifle I would like to use is my 9.3x62. Namibian law unfortunately states that the minimum rifle that may be used to hunt dangerous game must exhurt atleast 5400 joules of energy at muzzle.

From my research on this forum and other forums it is possible with Alliant RL-17, Ramshot Big Game as well as Alliant 2000-MR. Some othert powders also come close.

My main goal is to get to 5400 joules of energy, I would be happy to use any powder with a choice of the following bullets:

Swift A-Frame 300gr
Swift A-Frame 286gr
Woodleigh 320gr

It would be great if someone could run my info through QL to see what the most effective pullet/powder combination is to get to 5400 joules of energy.

Caliber: 9.3x62 CZ 550
H20 volume of cases: 75.30 gr (Norma)
Total Cartrage Lenght: 87.50 mm
Barrel lenght: 601 mm

Thx

Oelof

·
Premium Member
14,659 Posts
It seems the easiest way is to work backwards---How much velocity does each bullet need to equal the energy you're looking for?
The problem is getting away from bureaucrats- They have a list of calibers and ME figures and your handloads mean nothing at all. The only factory load that qualifies is the RWS 258 grain bullet. Not a buffalo load to me!

Reactions: shooter444

·
Elk Whisperer (Super Moderator)
10,805 Posts
So, we'll "round up" to 4000 lb ft of energy to make it easier.