Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all. This is my first time so please bear with me. I recently bought a sporterized Mauser. I know it was made in 1938. All the serial numbers match (even the bolt) and it has only 3 serial numbers. What throws me is that it has 3 identical Nazi eagles in a row on the right side of the receiver with what appears to be a 63 under each eagle. The 6 is in question but the 3 is clearly read. I can find nothing that explains the 3 eagles. Can some one help? Thanks!!

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,683 Posts
Welcome. I see all sorts of stamps on old military rifles. Sometimes there just is no explanation; other times we have good guesses. I can't say I've ever figured out the pattern on where the germans stamped what.

Congrats on your rifle.

·
Super Moderator
3,827 Posts
Three eagles are proof marks

This is a carryover from WWI and indicates the rifle passed proof tests. All the best...
Gil

·
Registered
4 Posts
is there a web site or sites to authenicate mauser k98. i know the gremans, and others made a ton of them. I know they're WWII or older, because my friends grandfather faught over there ( spoils of war). They were packed in grease, shipped over here, and forgotten for at least 50 to 60 years. bayonets included.

·
36,683 Posts
There are a variety of Israeli mausers floating around. Basically, war spoils that were "scrubbed" and rebarreled in .308. Whatever markings they had were ground off and a big six point start stamped on top of the receiver. Naturally, the barrels were replaced, along with whatever other parts may have needed it by then. Large ring mauser parts are surprisingly interchangeable, given the variety produced around the world.