Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well...I had prepped 50 rounds of .308 Win brass last week and decided to start reloading it this morning. I poured the powder into my powder throw and "low and behold"....my first charge threw out a fluorescent green bug. It wasn't dead, but totally anesthetized.

I've almost always had an inside place to reload....new place is smaller...but bigger. I have to do my reloading in the garage now. I have many times done my shotgun reloading in the garage, but this is my first time doing rifle "outside"...so to speak.

I figure I will put a sock over my powder throw from now on.

·
Super Moderator
13,164 Posts
I'll mention here that it is generally recommended that you don't store your powder in a powder hopper, but rather that you take it out at the end of each loading session and get it into a proper storage container. A few days won't matter, but I've seen how discolored some powder hoppers can become when some powders are left in them, and I had some N140 in a plastic bottle go bad and corrode the steel cap off while another portion of the same lot in the original container stayed good. So the kind of plastic has an effect.

Sometimes storing in a hopper doesn't seem to affect anything, but other times deterioration can occur. If your garage is not climate-controlled, deteriorating influences can be substantially increased by summer temperatures.

Reactions: rojkoh and Darkker

·
Registered
11,943 Posts
I will agree with unclenick but for another reason. In the past left powder in the hopper with several bottles sitting on the bench. Since they were spherical powder and about the same charge volume, ended up dumping 1/2 lb of powder because I couldn't identify it.

·
Registered
298 Posts