Shooters Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
To All You Experienced Folks,

I'm relatively new to reloading (although I've used classic Lee Loaders for years.) I'm about to purchase a Lee Anniversary Kit to get me going. I want to load for my mosin nagant.... something a bit lighter and more accurate then the military surplus ammo I've been using.

I'm hoping to use Beartooth 135 or 140 grain .311 bullets. I believe these are gas checked. I have three questions.

1) Anyone have suggestions on a reasonably light/accurate load recipe for those bullets?

2) I read somewhere about using pistol powders like Unique and Bullseye for light rifle loads. I have plenty of Bullseye on hand (which I use to load 9mm.) Thoughts and suggestions?

3) Most 7.62 x 54 recipes are for .308 150-180 grain bullets. What is the rule of thumb when you use a lighter bullet (135 grain rather then 150-180), or when you use a slightly larger bullet (like .311 instead of .308). Also, what about when you use cast bullets, rather then jacketed.

Of course I'm concerned about safety first. Also I'm mostly a target shooter.

All Thoughts and Suggestions Welcome.... Happy shooting!:)

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,196 Posts
Well, I own a couple of them and by slugging the bores, find one to measure .312" and the other at .314". Talking things over with the board owner, Marshall Stanton, we agreed to go with the .313" SPCG 135 gr bullet for light loads. I'm using 13.2 gr. or Alliant RL-7 with a dacron filler and a Rem 9 1/2 primer.

Your accuracy results may vary.

·
Registered
13,142 Posts
Kdub,

I read a lengthy description of taking a certain sized egg sinker and short sections of dowel rod to drive it down the bore, from the muzzle to the magazine well. Is that how you determined the bore size on yours? I know mine is pretty accurate with mil-surp ammo, but terrible with any of the .308 loads I've worked up.