Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to get a new rifle, specifically for hunting through a fairly dense wooded area. I am a novice hunting in the woods, I consider myself a good hunter on open plains and mountain terrain with my bolt actions, but recently i've thinking about purchasing a lightweight hunting rifle semi auto hunting rifle and I need to have it chambered pref. 30-06

Some have suggested BAR, Benelli R1, Marlin 336, M1A, M21

These are all great guns in their own right, but I am looking to see if anyone has good advice from experience. I need a rifle that I could take on a LONG hike, and it is not only accurate on teh first shot, but follow ups as well.

Thanks in Advance!

Nick

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I realize the Marlin 336 is not a Semi Auto, its a lever action... but in the right hands a solid lever action can be highly effective, so semi auto or lever action suggestions would be great...

·
Banned
2,370 Posts
does cali. allow you to hunt with a shotgun..the 336 is a fine close shot 150-200 with leverlution by hornady.. gun.. but another thing you might want to consider is a good shot gun with buck shot in chamber an slugs in the magazine.good luck. slim

·
Banned
604 Posts
My suggestion then is to pick up a used Remington M740 to 7400 Series of long arm. My brother uses an old M740 Carbine (18" barrel) in .30-06 and all of his hunting is in the woods and swamps of Northern Michigan. It's light, fast, accurate and reliable. I carried a Winchester M100 Carbine for years for deer and moose. Deer in Michigan and Colorado and Moose in Ontario, Canada. Incredibly accurate, light, super reliable. It was in .308 Win. You can find them at gun shows, used firearms dealers, pawn shops and on-line at the various auction sites. A LOT cheaper than new too. Either one would be a great choice for shooting accurately and quickly at ranges out to 200 yards.

·
Banned
421 Posts