Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this is an age old question, but in these desperate times some of us only have FMJ and any other ammo is nearly impossible to acquire. I am in this predicament - tons of FMJ but very light on HP. So.... will you use FMJ for SD/HD and how would you adjust if so?

·
Elk Whisperer (Super Moderator)
11,362 Posts
I'd load up some 158 grain Speer flat points over a healthy dose of H100 for the .357.

As far as your perdickerment? FMJ's from, I am guessing, a 9mil, I'd pass. While they are cheap plinkers and good practice ammo, as defence ammo they leave much to be desired IMO as such. Now I'm no expert and I don't want to start a debate (which often leads to a full blown description of one's past experiences taking out mutts and skells) but to me a fast expanding soft point would be preferred.

One man's opinion.

RJ

Reactions: MZ5 and Darkker

·
Registered
9,571 Posts
Ammo situation isn't totally hosed..can get HP's...maybe not the specific ones I want to use. Can get FP solids. I'm not liking the price or selection.
But If all you have is RN FMJ...isn't the solution what its always been: go bigger.

·
Registered
577 Posts
You use what you have. If all you have is FMJ when you have to defend yourself you fire and hit vitals.
If you change ammo type just make sure you re-sight you gun. Different ammo may not shoot to the same point of impact. It is important to know where your gun shoots before you need it.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have FMJ for 9mm, 357mag, 10mm, 44mag, 45acp. HP for 9mm, 38spcl, 10mm. - Definitely more of the FMJ. I have not been able to find ammo at all for these popular cals. I have some in hand now, not enough for SHTF, but should handle any isolated instance that my quiet suburb may throw at me.

·
Registered
1,704 Posts
Consider,
Most of the worlds armies, hoodlums and terrorists use FMJ to pretty good effect.