Shooters Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Belonging to a friend is a soup sandwich.
It’s ATI Omnimaxx in 5.56.
This thing routinely stove-pipes and double feeds rounds.
He asked me (like I would know!?) why it does that. He also showed me the buffer face... it is beating against the buffer retaining pin BAD.

I said it needs to go back to the factory. Ideas?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
I am just getting into the world of AR's. Have read that almost all feeding problems are gassed related. Either over or running under gassed. The way most are set up, they tend to run overgassed. Sounds to me like this is what is happening here. There are many good trouble shooting videos to be found on youtube or maybe you can get some insight at AR15.com. Possibly the least expensive attempt at a fix is a heavier buffer spring, heavier buffer or adjustable gas block......................... but one could replace these and still not fix the problem. I saw one video where the guy suggested having at least one heavier spring and a heavier buffer on hand anyway. (I have not done this with mine yet)

·
The Shadow (Moderator)
10,203 Posts
I agree that it's most likely a gas issue. I would guess it's over-gassed, being a pistol but....

Assuming the Bolt carrier isn't a gnarly clawed thing, that seems to be that it isn't a great fit in the upper; and can "rock" around when it beats against the buffer.

·
Registered
5,348 Posts
I said it needs to go back to the factory. Ideas?
I think you're right.

I don't have an encyclopedic level of experience, but of the AR's I've worked with, (a growing number), I've yet to see a buffer beat up like that. All of my rifles have seen a fair amount of use, and not a one has a single dent in the buffer. I've not seen that in any of the several AR's I've assisted others with.