Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to the AR15, and am interested in commonly available bullet lengths for the .223/5.56 cartridge.
JBM has a pretty good listing for many calibers.
JBM Ballistics bullet lengths
But it doesn't have some of the common off the shelf AR15 ammo.

Here is a few I have sampled, pulling the bullet out of the cartridge (Hornady "hammer" looking device).
0.962" 75g Hornady Frontier 5.56 HPBT Match
0.945" 75g Tula .223 HPBT (steel case, bimetal jacket)

0.918" 62g PMC X-Tac 5.56 M855 (green tip steel penetrator) note: 0.923" on PMC web site
0.900" 62g Norma Tactical 5.56 SS109 (steel penetrator)
0.807" 62g Colt National Match (DoubleTap) .223 (all lead core)

0.813" 55g Hornady .223 Remington V-max (ballistic tip) note: 0.811" JBM web site
0.746" 55g Federal American Eagle 5.56 XM193 note: 0.745" JBM web site
0.749" 55g PMC Bronze .223 note: 0.740" on PMC web site

Can anyone post other common off the shelf bullets?
Wood Font Material property Tints and shades Chemical compound
Wood Font Material property Tints and shades Chemical compound

Thanks

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
38,508 Posts
Interesting. Note that the lengths aren't absolute numbers; typically bullets come out of several sets of forming dies during production. So, some variation is expected. HPs in particular don't always have the nose formed exactly the same even coming out of the same die.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I forgot to put this Armscor bullet in my list of 62g bullets.
This is from their "Made in USA" Stevensville, MT; not the Armscor Precision made in the Philippines. If there is any difference? I did check the head stamp on the Philippines ammo in the store, and it was the same "A USA". At least right now anyway.

0.918" 62g PMC X-Tac 5.56 M855 (green tip steel penetrator) note: 0.923" on PMC web site
0.900" 62g Norma Tactical 5.56 SS109 (steel penetrator)