Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7,712 Posts
I can't think of any reason why the bullets (alone) would be harder on a barrel. Some of the loaded ammunition using FMJ's might be.

Why do you ask? Where did you hear/ read that?

Cheezywan

·
Registered
145 Posts
I'm no expert but I would say it depends on what the jacket is made of, "metal" as in "full metal jacket" is a broad term. If the jacket is steel then it would probably be harder on a barrel, if it is copper I don't see why it would be different than our hunting and target bullets. All the fmj bullets I've used were copper.:)

·
Registered
816 Posts
All rifle bullets are jacketed in copper. The barrel doesn't seem to care what the tip of the bullet looks like as it never touches the rifling anyway. So no, FMJs aren't going to wear a barrel any faster than a hollow point, or a soft point.

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,129 Posts
a steel-core FMJ is probably a different matter, though.

·
Registered
13,290 Posts
I'm no expert but I would say it depends on what the jacket is made of, "metal" as in "full metal jacket" is a broad term. If the jacket is steel then it would probably be harder on a barrel, if it is copper I don't see why it would be different than our hunting and target bullets. All the fmj bullets I've used were copper.:)
I've never heard of a bullet with a steel jacket...ever. I would think it would be incredibly dangerous if one were to be fired in any kind of firearm, as it would result in a radical pressure spike.