Shooters Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm a new guy here, and had a question I couldn't find an answer to via the search function.

I'm looking for a cheap O/U shotgun for trap. I've got a Mossberg 500 right now, but have always wanted an O/U. But I'm not made of money and can't afford even a Red Label at this point. I noticed the EAAs, Baikals, and a couple of other brands out there in the sub $500 range, and they caught my interest, but I've since been warned off due to problems like 'easily' broken firing pins, etc.

I stopped by my friendly local gunshop recently where I found a used Arius (Italian) model 2735 20ga O/U, 26 3/4" barrels, nicely engraved, for $300. I have no knowledge of this brand, and can't find a thing about it on the web.

Can anyone comment on these guns? Good price? I'm leaning toward a 20ga 'cause after a day of 12ga trap my shoulder is in pretty bad shape, though a co-worker claims this is just because of the Mossberg's poor ergonomics and recoil pad. Comments, suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

-- Sam

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,232 Posts
I've shot a lot of trap with a Rem. 1100. In my opinion it's a pretty good trap gun, if the stock fits you, with a barrel length of between 26 and 30 inches. You can occasionally find a factory trap or skeet gun too.

I would actually prefer one of these to any over/under, even for doubles, and should be able to find them for a decent price.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks! Doesn't seem to be a real popular maker, to say the least. There's not a thing on the web about them. You know you're in trouble when the only links Google can find come up to video gaming sites, with a player's name that matches the maker's name... :)

Upon further inspection of the one I found in the shop, the stock had been cut down and the length of pull was much too short for me.