Shooters Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to muzzleloading and the mountain man.  I would like to learn more about making my own balls and powder, so I can be more independent if I need to be.  I can find the lead but what do you melt it in and how do you ladle it out to the mold???

·
Beartooth Regular
7,776 Posts
Hi, BNie:
    Making your own powder is a mite tricky and more than a mite dangerous.  Casting your own balls is the same as casting bullets, just use the correct mould.   You can melt your lead in a tin can over the campfire or use the latest electric furnace.  You can use a bent spoon to pour the lead into the mould but a ladle is better.  Lyman has all you need, although other folks have good stuff too.
http://www.lymanproducts.com/lymanproducts/Default.htm
Click on CASTING (upper right) The round ball chart is quite a ways down.

It's getting late.  I'll check back tomorrow.

Bye
Jack

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jack, thanks for the info.  Years ago I was with a friend and we were making the balls, I just couldn't remember what the lead was melted in, and I know it wasn't a lead melter, or anything fancy.  I'm really not all that interested in making the powder, unless it really wasn't that bad, but I was very interested in the balls.  Thanks again.

Brent

·
Registered
254 Posts
I hasten to add a few unmentioned dangers about casting bullets:
1. NEVER melt lead in an aluminum pot. You can melt the bottom of the aluminum pot and then the lead will drop through, splashing and streaming hot metal.
2. Keep all water and liquids away from molten lead. This includes ensuring a bead of your sweat doesn't drop into the molten lead.
A drop of water in lead may cause a violent explosion of the molten lead, from steam. You can imagine what a geyser of molten lead can do to eyes and skin.