Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i,m a newbe here but am loving the forum! its been very helpful. i was wondering what y'all( yes i'm from texas) think is the most important component is when it comes to accuracy?type and weight of the bullet,type and weight of the powder, c.o.l ect.? example would there be a big diffrence between 39. grns of varget and 39. grns of h380. would bullets of the same weight , bc and sd group reasonably the same? might be a dumb question but i am just getting started :confused:

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,915 Posts
There is NO one component to single out as the most important to accuracy. It takes a cullimation of all factors for the individual rifle and chamber to determine best accuracy for that particular firearm. This includes bullet type/weight/brand, powder weight/type/brand, primer type/brand, case length/internal capacity, seating depth of bullet, neck tension, case/bullet runout and just how well you and the rifle setup are shooting that day.

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
kdub is right. Anyone who tells you that there is an answer to your question doesn't understand what it takes to achieve accuracy. Every variable has its effect, and every one must be "optimized" for the specific load and rifle to make it as accurate as possible.

That's why reloaders tend to be so anal about it. It's the only way to get it all right. ;)

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
DSP56
Ah the age old question that never gets answered! The cartridge is just one aspect of accuracy! You and the firearm affect it more then the cartridge! Then you got to factor in those silly environmental one as well(wind ,rain,cold etc.)! Welcome to the reloading world it's great fun- shoot straight , shoot often!

·
Registered
185 Posts