Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a gunsmith apprentice and I am looking to increase my knowledge on single action revolvers. I have heard about "single action sixguns" by John Taffin and "sixguns" by Elmer Keith. I am just having some trouble finding copies of these. Are there any other books that could be recommended.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
4,736 Posts
I am a gunsmith apprentice and I am looking to increase my knowledge on single action revolvers. . . . Are there any other books that could be recommended.
Thanks for the help
IMO, "The Colt Single Action Revolvers, A Shop Manual, Volumes 1 & 2" by Jerry Kuhnhausen and published by Heritage-VSP Gun Books Box 887, McCall, ID, 83638, is written in far more depth for the gunsmith than either of the two gunbooks you have quoted. Although titled as Volumes 1 & 2, it is actually a single 9 1/4" X 6 1/2", 255 page soft bound manual intended for gunsmiths. Retail price is about $35 and is often available at gunshows or directly from the publisher. Check it out and let us know if that isn't exactly what you're looking for.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you I will check that out it sounds good, I am end up getting it as well but it does not sound exactly like what I want. I am looking more for a history than a manual. I would like to learn about more than just the Colt, I know it was a popular gun but there where many other and I would love to know about as many as possible. I want to be one of those people who "knows every thing about cowboy guns"

·
Registered
4,736 Posts