Shooters Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i recently aquired an older plain jane winchester 670 in 30-06. it has a 22" barrel and a cheap scope 3-9x that is coming off soon for a better one. my question is what is a good bullet for deer and what weight? the guy i bought it from swore by the 180gr win. supreme ballistic silver tip. he gave me a box with three left and said they have been good for him with everyone he hit being DRT. my thoughts are the 150 would shoot flatter and 180 hit harder. what is the effective range of the 30-06? most places i hunt will be 150yds max but there is a pipeline that will stretch that a bit. any advice is greatly appreciated. also im a newbie to this site so hello all.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Welcome aboard. Assuming the rifle shoots fine, the 30-06 will kill farther than you can shoot. 150-165gr would be most common for 30s on deer, though some do go for the 180s and ole 220s. I'm never caught up on premium bullets for deer. I've never had to reach past 400yds, and deer are easy to kill. Hollow points or soft points/soft point boat tails do the trick.

·
Super Moderator
3,828 Posts
Welcome to the Forum

There are a lot of opinions about the best deer bullet in a .30-06. I prefer the 150 grain bullet and others swear by the 165 or the 180 grain. It depends on what you prefer, where you hunt and what your rifle shoots well. It is hard to go wrong with any loading in the .30-06.

The .30-06 will shoot a long way and you will do well at 150 yards with either the 150, 165 or 180 grain bullet. Hope this helps. All the best...
Gil

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4