Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would value the input of experienced reloaders of the 7.62x39 cartridge. I consider myself an experienced reloader, but I am certainly LEAST experienced with this round.

It appears that almost all boxer-primed brass with head stamps OTHER than "WINCHESTER" clean up nicely, polish well, and are easy to get the primer pockets clean. They ALSO appear to take large rifle primers. NOT the WINCHESTER brass. They stay dull, hang on to whatever they've been rolled in, and have primer pockets that seem to be DESIGNED to not clean up well, without considerable effort.
I reload .223, HAVE reloaded .222 Remington. .22 Hornet, .22 Harvey K-Chuck, and 222 Rem. Mag (remember that one?), so I have SOME experience with small rifle primer pockets. All of them, COMBINED, have not given me the trouble with cleaning that the Winchester AK brass has.
My questions are these:
1.) Is there a particular trick, tool, technique, secret handshake, incantation, or yoga stance necessary to fast and thorough cleaning of Winchester primer pockets?
2.) WHAT was Winchester THINKING when they decided to make their brass with SMALL primer pockets, rather than large primer pockets?

The answer to latter question isn't REALLY necessary to my successfully reloading this round. But SOMETIMES ammo makers REALLY do stuff that makes me wonder. Again, any insight is most welcome.

·
Registered
3,780 Posts
Not enough info here. You’re not saying how you clean the brass or what you’re adding to the tumbling media. I use several different brands of brass and Winchester is one of them. I’ve never had any problems with Winchester cleaning up any differently than any other brand. Need more info here on how you’re cleaning your brass before any suggestions can be offered.

·
The Shadow (Moderator)
8,885 Posts