Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am curious to the general practice of using brass among the reloaders here. I have been reloading now for about 6 months and have brass that has been used several times, as in about 7. I have people telling me that after 5 times brass should be tossed out regaurdless. I have had three pieces of brass split and they were all three brand new brass
at low pressure loads, which lead me to believe it was faulty brass. Zero brass show signs of head separation. I full size it everytime so the metal gets worked and I haven't annealed any of them. Do you guys toss them after a certain number of uses, or do you inspect them each use and use them as long as no pressure symptoms arise???

·
Registered
750 Posts
I would say it would depend on the case, load and gun.

I have some Lake City 5.56 brass that is on its 9th or 10th loading. I can't even tell you how many times I have reloaded some of my .38spl plinking loads, kinda the same thing for my starline 45acp.

To contrast, my 454 Cassul, 300RUM, 338WinMag, I would consider to have a much more limited life span. The benefit there, I am much less inclined to shoot them as much.

Other signs to look for: Bugling and case length. Sacrifice a case or two and cut them from the neck down to the base, see how it looks. I'm a cheap son-of-a-gun, so I will be using my brass until I cant.

The other thing, When you say "low pressure loads" do you mean you have data on the actual pressure, or they are a reduced, "light," or otherwise powder limited load? There is a chance, in some rounds (again, I dont know what you are shooting) that a minimum charge could result in a pressure spike.

·
Registered
170 Posts
My case necks always crack first on my 308. So when that happens they go in the trash. I get at least 10 or 12 loads from Winchester brass. Less with remington.

AL

·
Registered
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
low pressure loads