Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting ready to purchase a new hunting rifle. This will be my first high powered rifle. I am leaning toward a 30-06 caliber, unless someone on here talks me out of it.

I've also looked at the Marlin XL7 and the Ruger M77. One of my best friends has the Ruger in a 30-06 and it is a nice looking rifle and he is deadly accurate with it.

I like the looks of the browing x-bolt hunter the best.

Does anyone on here have any experience with any of these rifles? It looks like i can get the Remington or the Browning for about $725.

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
if you like the browning then buy it... they are one of the nicest rifles out there. i had an a-bolt in 25/06 about 15yrs ago that would consistantly put 5 shots in about 3/4''. i have no experience with the x-bolt but i wouldn't hesitate to buy one if i found one in a caliber that i wanted.

·
Registered
302 Posts
The X bolts are nice (although they have "made in Japan" stamped on the barrel}. They have a button on the bolt that allows you to open the bolt without taking the safety off and their triggers are adjustable (although the Remington will probably be adjustable too).

I personally like the looks of the a bolt over the x bolt and I really dont like the triangular barrel of the xhr. I would rethink the 30-06 though. If you dont want a magnum, look into the 270 win. If you dont mind a little extra kick, try the 7mm rem mag or 300 win mag.

I have an a bolt in 270wsm that I really like. Again, Im not happy about the location that they are made but you have to overlook a few things from time to time.

·
Registered
599 Posts
I have two Browning A Bolts that are great shooters and I'm sure the X bolt is also a great shooter. I like the Remington 700 CDL and I like it a lot but I'm not two excited about the barrel on the XHR either. Remington makes an excellent rifle and I've always liked the 700 series.