Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
612 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I've got a number of grip caps and other pieces of stock hardware for some projects I'm working on that will need to be blued in the near future, so for simplicity's sake I did a little studying and put a bottle of Oxpho-blue in my last order to Brownell's.

Any good tips for working with this stuff? I just started practicing with a piece of scrap steel tonight and, well, I've figured out how to make it look case colored (but not blued!).

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,196 Posts
Also, pour a small amount into a cap or plastiac cup that is disposible. Use that to dip the applicator of your choice in and throw the remaining solution away - do not use applicator directly to the bluing bottle or pour remaining solution back into original bottle. Doing so contaminates the bottle contents.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I have yet figgered out how to use this stuff. I've had a bottle for 10 yrs and I get some jobs great and some splotchey,some don't match the original color in a touchup job,some if you look at the barrel for example one way it looks like a factory blue job and look at the same barrel another way it looks splotchey,patchey, grey,black,and boogered up. I done grip caps and they turned out like factory,steel butt plate edges look great,trigger guards-great.Seems barrels are my nemesis. Your milage may vary. I guess it's just the different types of metals that makes the difference.No rusting though! I prepare them all the same. Maybe it's not designed for total bluing a barrel or large patch up jobs on a barrel? I thought the ads implied it was a do all product.

·
Registered
9,779 Posts
Won't usually do larger areas without some changes in color, but if you have to try that, then get the past form of Oxpho. For a barrel, some on a strip of rag, and a shoe-shine type buff at least minimalizes the uneven color.