Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here! Looks like a good place to ask my question.

A long time ago a vendor on ebay was selling a mold that cast 4 lead pellets connected to each other in a ring. Three or four of these (I can't remember how many)could be stacked on top of each other so that the pellets were in a staggered pattern. This stack of rings would fit precisely into a 12 guage hull. The idea was that the individual pellets would hold a tighter pattern due to being bound together during the trip down the bore of the gun. Supposedly they broke apart during flight or upon impact.

My question is does anyone know where to buy this mold?

thanks

Jeff

·
Registered
3,124 Posts
Keep watching, they come up on there from time to time still. I saw one about two month ago. I don't really see the utility in the unit, except for a novelty type round. If you cast the "clusters" from pure lead, as you would buckshot, it's still going to deform and make for a poor pattern. The only thing more inneficient ballistically than a round ball, would be four of them attached together. You'd probably be way ahead of the game looking for a 4 cavity 00 size roundball mould. It certainly wouldn't cost you what he was getting for those moulds.

·
Registered
1,088 Posts
I cast my own buckshot with two Lee moulds. They are inexpensive 2 cavity .310 roundball moulds. I cast as a stess relief thing, the repetative motion is calming. They stack three per layer 4 deep in a 12ga. shotcup. It doesn't take long to cast a container full.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
kciH said: