Shooters Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Inactive account
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new at loading cast bullets but have been reloading since 1960, just never cast.
I am loading for a 454 Casull and bought 3 weights from Beartooth, a box of Hornady HTP Mags and a box (100) of brand "X", 360 grn GC. The 360s arrived before the Beartooth and I started to test weigh a few. The actual weights range from 334 grains to 360 with most that I tried settling around 350 +/- 4 grains. Is this acceptable? The bullets are all uniformly sized and lubed and are all right at .975" in length. The Beartooths are all pretty much right on the weight and the Hornady JHPs likewise.

I'm planning on sorting them if for no other reason than accuracy plus I'd hate to accidently load one that actually weighed 360 grains into a bunch that weighed, say 340 if I was loading max loads!

Can anyone shed light on this? Typical or not?

·
Elk Whisperer (Super Moderator)
11,868 Posts
Hmm, I'd be getting in touch with the manufacturer. That's quite a bit of variance. If mine don't weigh within 5 grains of each other, they get throw back and remelted.

RJ

·
Inactive
7,586 Posts
I don't do much cast bullet shooting, but almost 10% difference from the light to the heavy seems quite large to me for the brand x. Such a percentage would be unacceptable in precision varmint or target rifle shooting.

Some may think that such a large weight difference won't matter too much in relatively short-range handgun shooting, but it does. There is a large difference in elevation impacts from revolvers shooting light vs heavy bullets because in the heavies, the muzzle is already rising in recoil before the bullet leaves the barrel. It's very noticeable in my Ruger Redhawk 44 mag. Probably not as noticeable in a lever gun shooting the same loads.

Doubt I shed any light, but if wanting accuracy, I would sort those bullets!

·
Registered
5,348 Posts
Can anyone shed light on this? Typical or not?