Shooters Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to muzzleloading. I bought a TC Hawken .50 cap rifle for whitetail hunting. I just got the thing, but I spent 12 hours at the range over 4 days. A couple experienced guys helped me sort things out.

I'm getting better and better with ball and 100gr of FFG. Getting some nice grouping. But I can't hit squat with maxi-balls. With 275gr I'm all over the map. With 350gr somewhat better, but still a good 8 inches of drift in all directions. Not acceptable for hunting.

Is there anything obvious that sticks out? Why would I be so much better with ball and patch?

I'm all ears.

·
Registered
4,017 Posts
I've never had any luck, in terms of accuracy, using "Maxi-Balls" or "Maxi-Hunters". In my T/C Black Diamond rifle; I use 90.0 gr. (Volume) of FFG Triple "7" and a High pressure Sabot using a .45 Cal. Hornady XTP .452" bullet. All fired by a 209 shotgun primer.

·
Registered
516 Posts
What is your twist? I have a CVA and I suspect that the twist is much the same as mine will also shoot round balls.

Keep shooting your gun w/the rbs as you bore may be a tad rough and they tend to smooth the bore out.

My gun likes the bullets of 385 grains, or more. When you get up around 425 grains, they really, really group....and, they also kick.

·
Registered
1,938 Posts
Possibly the rifle has a slow twist barrel, maybe 1-60 or slower. That would cause you to have exactly the problems that you have described OR
That being said, most T/C HaWkens have a compromise shallow grove 1-48" twist. The problems that you have described can also be caused by using too much powder in a shallow grooved barrel. 100 grains is probably the fault. Back off to 80 grains and see what happens with both types of projectile. I'll bet that they shoot better.
Then work on coming up slowly to 90 grains - look for a fall off in accuracy.
Check your twist rate first.
Pete

·
Registered
4 Posts