Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mr. Stanton:

I read with interest your tip on cleaning dies with carb cleaner.  I've used it as well.  Works great.

I knew a guy in the National Guard that told me once that they used carb cleaner on their M-16's.  I got to thinking about it a while back, and thought I'd try it on my guns, rather than paying more money for "Gun Scrubber," which I've used as well.  They smell the same.  I've used it a couple of times, and it works well, but I'm wondering if anyone knows if there is anything in carb cleaners that could damage the steel of fireams.

I've used it to clean out hard-to-reach areas, then sprayed a good coat of Remington Dry-Lube into the action after it dried.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
39 Posts
Ray, I've been using Carb cleaner on my metal guns for over 20 years now, no problems yet. I'd be cautious if the firearm had plastic parts as the solvents might attack them. I also wouldn't get any on the wood finish. Be cautious about breathing the fumes.

I get the generic or any other brand that happens to be on special at the local auto parts stores, they're all the same, the label will bear this out. Generally I pay about &#361.25 per can.

Brake cleaner works also, but I've heard scuttlebutt that there are water based brake cleaners on the market, but label reading should turn those up.

·
Beartooth Regular
1,184 Posts
Ray,

I'll second BrianK's advice too. Just watch the stocks and plastic as he says. Also some rubber grips.

Actually for general cleaning as far as degreasing say action parts, you can get away with something like Brakleen or a substitute. For carbon or gas port cleaning and some carbon buildup in barrels, cylinder faces and such, the carb cleaner is fine. It won't remove jacket fouling however and that's best left to a good bore cleaner rated for it.