Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
554 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,  I bought a 3BR and some nice Redding and RCBS equipment based on your recommendations.  What's next is a case trimmer.  I'm currently using a Redding form/trim die and bastard file and getting tired (those 6.5 MS stretch a lot every shot!).

What's the best trimmer for rifle/necked cases in 40 round lots?  (Don't need a factory machine.)

-Charlie

·
Beartooth Regular
7,768 Posts
Hi, Charlie:
   I've been useing a Forster for about 25 years. Some others might be faster or cheaper, but mine just keeps going and going. A number of accessories like a neck turner are available. The standard base will do most calibres. IIRC, anything longer than 9mm Luger and .375 H&H or shorter.

http://www.forsterproducts.com/

Glad to hear you got that little Mannlicher humming.

Bye
Jack

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
I'm with Jack on this one. I have been using a Forster for about as long, since I outside turn necks on match ammo, inside ream, and trim. However, it's hard to beat the Lee trimmer in a hand drill. I just don't know if Lee makes one for the 6.5x53 MS???
best regards, James

·
Banned
554 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, the Redding case holder is #24 (Hornady #20, 21 or RCBS #9, Lyman #28, C-H #14 equivalent).  Lee doesn't seem to cover the 6.5 MS, but I may get away with a Lee #2?

It looks like Lee will make up a case length guide if they have a case holder that fits (&#3615).  It sounds like a bit of work to get the works going with Lee and my oddball cartridge.

The Forster looks nice.  Great site, too; looks like a "quality company."  I almost bought  a screwdriver set, some competition dies and a sight alignment tool just because they look good.

I *think* I need the Forster #1 collet & #26 pilot with it.  (The collet is the shellholder and the pilot is the mouth aligner for the cutting tool?)