Shooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am pretty new at bullet casting.I am casting up bullets for my Marlin 1893 32-40 cal rifle.Its a Lyman 165 gr #319247 and sized at .321.I cast them from WW lead with 5% tin added.When shooting this at apprx 1200 fps it shoots great.I increased the load to 1400 fps and the bullets are all over the target and some are hitting sideways.Can anyone give me a clue of whats happening?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Levergunz, Being new to casting my I suggest getting a copy of "Jacketed Performance With Cast
Bullets" by Veral Smith from LBT P.O. box 357
Cornville, AZ. 86325 (602) 634-4300.  $25
It is a must read for a serious caster, it answers a lot of ?'s about bullet fit to throat and rifling, bullet
hardness ect.

It has changed my thinking about cast bullets!! :)

Looking at pic. of bullet in ? it does not have a lot of bearing surface, which means at 1400 it could
be stripping the rifling, here again bullet fit and hardness may be the answer.

You did not say what powder you are using, a fast
powder pushes bullet hard into rifling.

Try a slower powder to get 1400, it will have a softer push on bullet.

Also check for leading at vol. between 1200 & 1400.
Type of bullet lube also has an effect on leading and accuracy.

Hope this helps.
Calamity Jake

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,413 Posts
Stripping ... no doubt about it.

Might try hardening them a bit, either by dropping from the mould into a bucket of water or heat-treating them in the oven.

·
Beartooth Regular
7,768 Posts
Hi, Levergunz:
   I'm pretty new to casting myself, but 5% tin is too much for wheelweights.  If the percentage of tin exceeds the percentage of antimony, the alloy is softer than a one to one mix. WW's have about 3% antimony.  Mr. Bill Ferguson told me this.

Have you tried heat treating the bullets?

Jake's points are all good.

Mike types faster than I do :D
Bye
Jack