Shooters Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty much a self taught stock checkerer. My first set of checkering tools were purchased from Herter's who advertised that everything they sold was the best dang thing that ever was made.

Those tools I bought from them are now sleeping with the fishes in Lake Michigan. So, then I bought and tried the DemBart tools. Damn tools clogged up with wood before I could get one full line cut. OK, next tools I tried were the GunLine tools. They didn't do too bad, but I just didn't like the handles on those. Then I met a fella named Colonel Jim Coffin. He was the military attache to the ambassador to India that the owner of the company I was working for in the toolroom at Twin Disc Inc. got to know when he was on a tiger hunt in India. John H Batten brought Jim over to my fledgeling gunshop in Racine, WI and introduced me to Mr. Coffin. At that time I had a Model 70 Winchester stock in my self-made checkering cradle that I was struggling to get done. Mr. Jim introduced me to which checkering tools he was using at that time and purchased from W.E. Brownells in San Diego, CA with what he called a "bifurcated handle". I ordered up several cutters in 20, 22 and 24 LPI , with some 60, 75 and 90° single line cutters and the handles as well.
Gotta admit, Mr.Coffin steered me in the right direction. My checkering improved as I improved:

This was done on one of the first short action Model 70 Winchester push feed short actions as produced and sold. I sent a stock blank to Don Allen who used his duplicator on a low grade semi-inlet plain walnut stock I bough and glass bedded for the new short action from Reinhart Fajen. Mr. Allen also made a pattern from what I sent him for his own use.
As my checkering jobs became more frequent I became a bit more affluent in my work and got a bit more bold with my patterns: