Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking on getting a crony i like the one from cabelas crony F-1.

What kinds of chronographs are you using and how do you like them.
i have been reloading for 2 years and with out one it's hard to tell how fast they are going the reloading books just give an idea,

·
Banned
490 Posts
The Chronys are well thought of. I use a 15 year old PACT and am very happy with it. I don't do much calculation of ES, SD and all that stuff...I just like to know how fast and reasonably consistent my loads are. A chronograph is a must for a serious reloader.

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,127 Posts
Have owned the Chrony's, Pact's and Oehler's.

The Oehler was the most accurate and dependable, but a PITA to set up with the custom gear that came with it. Sold to a commercial enterprise that made a good offer at the gunrange. Individuals can't buy these anymore.

The Pact PC2 is the one presently being used. More reliable than the Chrony, has larger viewing area and pretty rugged in construction. Fairly easy to set up and use. Mine is the old style that requires a separate HP printer via infrared beam to provide a printout.

Owned two chrony's - first was the F-1 model which got traded in on the Beta Master series. This was lost after inadvertently driving off with it still on top of the Jeep and was never found. The chrony's will work OK, but are very suceptible to lighting and stray signals. Always had issues with muzzle blasts from shooters at adjacent benches. Very small viewing area and the wire screen support rods can damage the unit if hit with a bullet. Got smart and used small diameter wooden dowel rods in their place instead.

·
The Shadow
7,929 Posts
Never had an issue with my Chrony, as far as stray or odd readings.
Suits me fine. Is it precise? Well man with one watch always knows the time.