Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started in casting my own and am looking for some advice. I have managed to gather up a five gallon bucket of lead from electrical wire from a friend that was used as insulation. I also managed to gather up about 2/3's of a bucket of WW's and need to know if i should clean them before i make ingots from them. If I should clean them what is the best process for doing so? thanks in advance for the help!

·
Registered
3,262 Posts
First thing -- DO NOT wash them. You will never get all the moisture off of them and inevitably you will have a steam explosion from the melting pot as you add weights --and a splattering of liquid lead on any part of your body is excrutiating, and potentially disastrous.

As the weights melt, steel clips, dirt, and all manner of detritus will float to the top. Skim it off. Once you've skimmed all you see, add a bit of paraffin (candle wax) as a flux and stir. Notice -- this will produce copious amounts of smoke and is best done outside, or at the least in a spot where there is strong, direct ventilation! Now you'll see more dirt and scum on the surface. Skim it off. Repeat the process. Depending on how dirty your weights are, it may take 4 or 5 cycles of fluxing, stirring, skimming. Once you've gottten all you're going to get, it is ready to pour up in to ingots.

·
Registered
2,572 Posts
Sheedy
Never clean your raw material(wheelweights) in the same pot that you use to cast bullets.I use a large cast iron pot and the heating element from a deep fryier unit.
I always do the cleaning process outside of the house.TThere is heavy black smoke.
Frank

·
Registered
187 Posts
wheel weight cleaning